News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Removing my 383 engine for class. Needs tips. (Update 03/18/2012 ALL DONE!)

Started by Supercharged Riot, February 25, 2012, 11:35:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Supercharged Riot

**I have never done this before**

Engine: 383 (casting # unknown)
Transmission: A833 (4 speed)
Rear End: Dana 60

Hey guys.

The situation:
I'm taking an engine rebuilding class.
I got a deadline to get the engine out of the car in 1 week or else I fall behind in class and forced to drop the class.
The car is at home, but I was told I can get the car to class only for 1 day to remove the engine.
It cannot stay over night. No exceptions.

What I have done so far:
Radiator removed
I drained the coolant
I drained the motor oil.

What I think I should do next:
I think I'm supposed to clear out the engine bay so that I don't risk damaging my parts
Can I just unbolt the A833 from the engine and remove the engine alone and keep the A833 in the car?? or should I take out the transmission with it? (I don't have space to store the transmission outside of the car)

Drain the transmission oil (I dunno where or how. is it easy?)
Drain the brake fluid
Remove the steering wheel components
Remove all electrical wires
Detach the headers (might be tricky taking the engine out with headers attached?)
Detach

I need your professional suggestions since I'm in a time crunch to keep up with class and I really want to start working on the engine.
Is there a general check-off list procedure for the order of things to remove?

Thanks alot

RallyeMike

What I think I should do next:
I think I'm supposed to clear out the engine bay so that I don't risk damaging my parts Not really, though you should remove the radiator.