News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

possibly dumb question

Started by Wolfie, November 30, 2011, 06:16:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wolfie

again, im a bit of a newbie when it comes to cars - but within the last month or so my charger has been putting out some really strong smells from the exhaust, along with a bit of white smoke. i took it in to a shop thinking the oil needed changing or there was too much oil (?) and the guy said just drive it more and 'burn that shit out on the open road (kind of hard to do in l.a.). the smell im smelling smells strongly of gasoline - so i was thinking perhaps i have too much gas flooded in the carb, as suggested by a friend. i thought this might be the case, as i have trouble starting the car lately as well and it usually takes about 4 - 6 tries before the engine finally turns over.

unfortunately im unable to drive the car as much as i would like to these days, so i was wondering if you guys could give me a few suggestions as to what it could be before i take it in again. i dont want to be turned away and told to just "drive it more". last thing i need is for it break down on me and have to be left at whatever shop is open or nearby at that time.

thanks in advance to all that reply
New to the muscle car/mopar addiction so bare with the "dumb" things I'm likely to ask all of you. Just trying to learn and gotta start somewhere! Cheers!

69rtse4spd