News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

First post, and a few questions

Started by 6T8, April 07, 2010, 08:49:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

6T8

I tried to create a post yesterday, but I never found out of it went through or not. Oh well.

First off, to everyone here, this site is amazing. I've been scoping it out for a while now and figured I should go ahead and join.

I have a '68 Charger that my Grandparents bought brand new and I got the title to when I graduated about 5 years ago. It's been sitting for roughly 10 years but I got it started and rolled it up and down the driveway a few times the other day. Backfires like a mofo and gets bogged down when you give 'er gas, but otherwise seems to be okay.

I'd love to restore it, but I'm 22 and the cash is just not in the cards right now. I know I need to do the basic tune-up stuff, plugs and oil change and all that. But my Grandpa keeps mentioning that there's a piece in the carb that wore out on all of these when the switch to unleaded gas happened. Like a needle or something? I'm pretty sure the whole carb just needs overhauled.

I'm not a mechanic, but I'm decent with my hands. (I'm a computer technician.) Is overhauling the carb something I could pull off it is that something better left to a professional? I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks
-Tommy
Bedford, IN

tan top

hello & welcome  :cheers:  , carb  overhaul is not difficult , just need to be carefull ,  befor you start yours if unsure could always buy the same from a wrecking yard cheep , to experiment on !!  :yesnod:
Feel free to post any relevant picture you think we all might like to see in the threads below!

Charger Stuff 
http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,86777.0.html
Chargers in the background where you least expect them