News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

To build a stroker or not?

Started by super_dave, December 18, 2009, 01:41:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

super_dave

Hi everyone, I've been wondering if I should build my own motor or not.  I'm no mechanic and have never worked on engines before.  I have a 69 440 block and was thinking about getting a performance shop to build me a stroker.  Gets pretty expensive by the time it's turnkey you know.  Is it possible for me to build it myself or is that a no no?  Whadda ya think?

GreenMachine

I usually have the machine shop assemble the short block. I believe they charge less than $100 for that. From my experience, 1st drop off your block at the machine shop and have them do a test bore on the worst cylinder to find out the overbore. 2nd, order your stroker kit with the proper oversize pistons. 3rd, take it all to the machine shop.
   With all that you're looking at $1,000-1,300 for the machine work (around here anyway). If they degree the cam it's a little more. The rest of the build is easy, but since you said you have no experience, buy this book and it should give you all the info you need.

http://www.amazon.com/Big-block-mopar-engines-Don-Taylor/dp/1557881901/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1261173757&sr=8-2

This one too:

http://www.amazon.com/Big-Block-Mopar-Performance-Modifications/dp/1557883025/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1261173757&sr=8-3
If it ain't broke, fix it 'till it is.

Chatt69chgr