News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

(Minor question): Water pump bolts have a plastic insert?

Started by 69ISFINALLYMINE, September 16, 2008, 08:52:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69ISFINALLYMINE

As I have said before, I am new to MOPARS and just became the proud owner of a 69 Charger.  I am making it road-worthy since it has been sitting for quite some time.  I have a question related to some strange looking bolts.  I replaced the water pump today (383 engine) and noticed that the 4 water pump bolts have some sort of plastic insert in the threads.  It looks like all four bolts were drilled into the threads on one side and plastic was molded in, then threaded with the bolt.  What am I seeing?  These look to be original factory bolts.  Hmmmmmm.

Aside from the miles and miles of threads on the front disc brake caliper bolts, this is the second unusual thing that I have found with this car.
Thanks.
Doc

RD

you got pictures? and no...someone did this after.. OEM does not have plastic inserts in threads.  sure it isnt some type of liquid pipe dope that has dried?
67 Plymouth Barracuda, 69 Plymouth Barracuda, 73 Charger SE, 75 D100, 80 Sno-Commander

69ISFINALLYMINE