News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

318 performance and driveability.. advice please!

Started by K9COP, March 06, 2007, 01:41:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

K9COP

Morning all.. I've got a numbers matching '68 318. It has 2.76 rear end, and is factory stock. The island I live on has a 50mph maximum speed limit, but that is only in a few places, and it's generally 40mph. I'd like some advice as to what to do to the car to generally improve it's driveability, and do the occasional burnout to annoy the cops (just kidding, I'm a cop here!)..

The car is an olive drab colour now, and I'm intending to change it to Sublime, as the interior is green, and I don't want to change it too much from original.

I've read a couple of the other 318 performance threads, and have come away a bit confused to be honest (the poor 16 year old who wants to beat ricers.. my car in the UK, where I'm from, which I haven't got round to selling, is an '89 Skyline GTR) what is a 2bbl, or 4bbl.. I thought that meant 2 or 4 barrel carb, but one of the threads says get a 4bbl AND a carb..

Anyway, I know you'll all say, "Buy a 360!" but I've become a bit obsessed with it being numbers matching.. does this REALLY matter? It's done 75K, so should hopefully be healthy enough.. the body will take a huge amount of work, so I'm probably running before I can walk, but any advice, bearing in mind the limitations of supply on an island, would be appreciated. Plus I've got that 3rd gen o fix up!

CaymanSublime
I'd rather push a Charger than drive a Mustang.. which is lucky..

My cars:
'69/70 Charger 440
'03 Range Rover
'05 Audi A8R
'93 Lotus Omega (SOLD)
'97 Jag U Are XK8 (For Sale)
'68 Charger 318 (for sale)
'74ish Charger 400Magnum (sold)
'89 Nissan Skyline GTR (sold)
'92 Jeep Cherokee 9" lift (sold)