News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

2 questions (MSD box) and (Timing question)

Started by 73chargercali, August 16, 2006, 10:14:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

73chargercali

first question i saw that the mopar performance multi spark box has a rev limiter, so which box is better the MSD 6AL box or the mopar one? i remember someone was saying the mopar one was a waste of money on the forum but i don't know why.

second question is when racing, you get better performance when you advance the distributor or am i wrong.
right now i have my timing set at 12 degrees before on a new MP distributor with nothing modified what would my time be for the total?

any help will be very appriciated.

dodge freak

Not sure what you are talking about. Do you mean the stock and stock look mopar units - Orange, chrome. ones or the MSD boxes that Mopar had its name put on them?
The MSD units as far as I know are the same, just the mopar ones are black and say mopar. They came in the 6 and 7 boxes. I like the 7 box better but the 6 is still better than the orange or chrome box from mopar. Mopar must have know that, so thats why they let MSD put their name on it. I have MSD but not the one that say Mopar but as far as I know its the same. MSD tech told me so.

deputycrawford

Dodge Freak beat me to it. The Mopar multiple spark box IS an MSD. They are both better than the Orange box. As for your distributor; I would call Mallory and see what the stock mechanical advance setting is on the distributor. Mallory does make them for MP now. Your engine will have its very own requirements for its timing so buy a dial back timing light and go at it.