News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

It RUNS and now I have a BIG BLOCK

Started by greatwn73, August 05, 2006, 09:04:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

greatwn73

First off let me tell you I am not a technican but think I have some mechanical knowledge,so taking on this step of my Charger was a bit intimidating. I've owned this car for three years and each year I try to do a project but be able to use the car during the summer months.The first year was body, paint and mechanical safety.Last year was the interior and electrical(rally dash ,console shift etc.). This year the 318 had to go and although it ran well ,it was always the plan to step up a bit.I started this in May but job,wife and kids made it tough to work on every day not to mention the number of things that didn't fit that should have.
   The follow pics were taken through the process and I thought I'd share

greatwn73

more prep work

greatwn73

it nears completion

Lowprofile

"Its better to live one day as a Lion than a Lifetime as a Lamb".

"The final test of a leader is that he leaves behind him in other men the conviction and will to carry on."

Proud Owner of:
1970 Dodge Charger R/T
1993 Dodge Ram Charger
1998 Freightliner Classic XL

greatwn73

It started and ran on the third try and after repairing two minor coolant leaks I drove it to my local garage where he set the timing and checked my work I drove it home and put on the hood, bumper and grill and have put about 25 miles on this afternoon. The first thing I did was take a corvette owning friend for a ride(after the kids).
  There are probably a number of things I've done wrong but except for the engine machine work and transmission rebuild I've done this myself and learned as I went.