News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Car likes idling at 1000rpms

Started by frank1966, December 05, 2016, 10:29:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frank1966

Hey, my engine likes to idle at 1000rpms, when I turn it down to 750 and adjust the mixing screws I cant find a smooth spot. I'm using a compound meter vacuum gauge. It shows in the green - normal engine operation.

The needle is most stable at 1000rpms not sure why. I'm using all new wires, MSD distributor all in one.

I'm not good at using a timing light, how can I best set the idle at 750?
Rotate distributor to max vacuum, then idle screw, then mixing screws? Which is the best order of adjustment?

The engine was rebuilt, don't know whats inside, it does not sound like I have a big cam.

the engine is perfect at 1000, no vibrations or stumbling at all, smooth and balanced sounding.

frank1966

sorry duplicate post, I forgot I posted this last night

Kern Dog

Frank likes making multiple posts on the same subject.    :smilielol:

MSRacing89

Quote from: frank1966 on December 05, 2016, 10:29:40 PM
Hey, my engine likes to idle at 1000rpms, when I turn it down to 750 and adjust the mixing screws I cant find a smooth spot. I'm using a compound meter vacuum gauge. It shows in the green - normal engine operation.

The needle is most stable at 1000rpms not sure why. I'm using all new wires, MSD distributor all in one.

Rotate distributor to max vacuum, then idle screw, then mixing screws? Which is the best order of adjustment?

The engine was rebuilt, don't know whats inside, it does not sound like I have a big cam.

the engine is perfect at 1000, no vibrations or stumbling at all, smooth and balanced sounding.