News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Is there an optimal setting for the timing?

Started by johnnycharger, October 21, 2015, 09:08:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnnycharger

Hi Guys
I need to get my timing set correctly and I am no master mechanic...
Here is what I have
383 stock cam heads and innards
Holley 750 double pumper
Edelbrock performer intake
Blaster 2 coil
Pertronix box
Fire core wires
Ngk plugs
Vacuum advance disconnected

I think that is all of the details.
What should my timing be set at?

Ghoste

You can probably start at 16 initial and 32 total but once you get into it the car may tell you different.

myk

The optimal setting is whatever your engine likes; no two engines are the same.  Set your initial timing to highest possible manifold vacuum, then test drive.  My engine went all the way up to 24* initial and highest vacuum, but I settled on 20* initial in the end...

BSB67

Try this

Total timing at 38° w/o vacuum advance
Check and record timing at idle  v/o vacuum advance
Reconnect the vacuum advance to ported  vacuum and go for a test drive, and report back how it drives.

500" NA, Eddy head, pump gas, exhaust manifold with 2 1/2 exhaust with tailpipes
4150 lbs with driver, 3.23 gear, stock converter
11.68 @ 120.2 mph

John_Kunkel

:iagree: That's more like it. Fuel quality will dictate final setting.
Pardon me but my karma just ran over your dogma.

68charger440

Quote from: John_Kunkel on October 22, 2015, 12:40:55 PM
:iagree: That's more like it. Fuel quality will dictate final setting.
"Fuel quality"... Now that's an oxymoron if I ever heard one. :lol:
When someone is absolutely 100% sure they know exactly what your problem is and how to fix it, it's time to ask someone else!

John_Kunkel