News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Caburetor choices for 383 mild build

Started by AmadeusCharger500, October 08, 2015, 01:02:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AmadeusCharger500

My Holly 770 Street Avenger is giving me problems. I've been using it for about 15 years. I think it needs a rebuild.
I would like to try something else, and smaller since I have never taken the car to the track.
The car is 71 charger 383, hydraulic moderate cam higher then stock, street avenger intake, 1.75 primary heads with 3.55 gears.

I've just been totally out of the loop for a while. Any new equipment carb choices out there?

303 Mopar

I would suggest Proform 750.  These are easy to tune, perform excellent, and are still reasonably priced.  Google them for the lowest price, but Summit/Jegs/Mancini all have them.

http://www.proformparts.com/product-exec/product_id/878/nm/PROFORM_reg_STREET_SERIES_CARBURETOR_b_750_CFM_b_MECHANICAL_SECONDARY/category_id/182
1968 Charger - 1970 Cuda - 1969 Sport Satellite Convertible

AmadeusCharger500

Thanks looking at them now. I heard there is a new carb that doesnt require much fuss in tuning, maybe proform is it. I can adjust idle screws and such but not great at jetting and power valves.

myk

Are you refering to the Edelbrock 'carbs?  But they're hardly new.  Edelbrock 'carbs are very easy to mess with.  All you're dealing with are step up springs, metering rods and jets, and only the jets require disassembly of the 'carb.  However, keep in mind that if your car requires a specific fuel curve and level of adjustability, the Edelbrock won't cut it.  There are plenty of users, some on here, that are looking to ditch their 'Eddy's and move onto another type of 'carb...

Dino