News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

69 B7 BLUE INTERIOR DASH PADS,DOOR PADS,ETC..COLOR ????

Started by 69 OUR/TEA, March 26, 2006, 07:21:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69 OUR/TEA

Hello everyone,I am in the process of getting my interior pieces finished and am looking for anyone with B7 blue interior to see what they used for the dash pad,and lower cushions and cushions above the door panels.I have the paint for the dash (metal ),nailed down.As I have stated in other posts or replys,I have been doing paint and body for about 18 years and about 10 years ago had a good friend become a PPG paint rep,so with my own years of experience and the knowledge he has brought me has excelled me up the ladder as a painter.When I restore a car I try to get whatever part it may be right on the money as how it is supposed to look,as original.I will give the resto vendors a shot with their product,but if it's not right I will do what it takes to get it right.As my post on the 69 grille restoration a while back,the paint offered for the grill ,called grill silver is not even close!! So I took a paint proffit,computer picture, right on the part(N.O.S grill) got a formula,and kept messing with it until it was right.The same thing is happening with the interior color for this car.The vendors rattle can interior paint for this application also is not even close!! So I went right to the PPG color library,(not a paint chip book),but the actual place that a rep would call to get formulas for such situations.This is what was found: the dash(metal part)and steering column is PPG # 13689 which is called majesty blue....SUEDE FINISH.It looks chaulky after it dries as to not get sun glare.But in the formula,it did not show there being any metallic,which there IS!!!!I I mixed it and had to add  DMD 6