News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Need checklist to convert A/C to R134a

Started by Dino, May 02, 2012, 07:41:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dino

This is something I want to do asap, it gets way to hot and mucky here to drive without a/c!

I have the original system under the hood minus the condensor.  The guy who sold me the car had left it with his parents far far away.  He emailed me a while back saying it's at his house and I can pick it up whenever, but he doubts if it's original to the Charger.  As long as it fits it should be okay right?  If not, which is a good one to get?

I bought a new dryer T33317 but that's it.  What else do I need?  New O-rings?  Esther oil?  How about new hoses?  Where do I get those barrier hoses?

I've never worked on an A/C system before and would like to know where to start.  I do not intend to charge the system myself but I would like to get it up to the point where I can drive the car to a garage and have it tested and filled.

Also how do I test the compressor to make sure it works?  I do intend to use the original as I love the look of it, I do not want to go with aftermarket parts here unless I really have no choice.
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

Nacho-RT74

-Dryer with propper silica gel

-Green O rings able to propperly seal the smaller R134 molecules

-Theory says need to change the hoses for a newer more sealed kind due the smaller molecules of the R134, however, on a still good conditions old stock hoses being already seasoned by the years of use should hold the newer R134. I did it without problems, untill hoses break, then changed hoses