News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

1968 charger engine options

Started by NGC414, September 02, 2009, 01:04:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NGC414

I am new to mopars, so trying to learn as fast as possible. I recently bought a 68 charger that was originally a 318 car with a 440 from a late 70s passenger car. Im not sure what has been done to the engine. (Attached is a pic) I pulled the engine the other day and have been racking my brain on which direction to go. I was just courious what some other people on this site would reccomend. I am just looking for the best bang for buck performance.
I was thinking of a good head, cam combo and engine rebuild. Reccomendations? or
Stroker kit?
supercharger?
What is a good source for after market mopar parts?

TylerCharger69

It all really depends on what you wish to spend on that engine!!

RECHRGD

Well, it looks like it already has some after market stuff on it.  Do you have any information on what has been done to it?  How quick do you want the car to be?  How's you bank account looking?  Welcome aboard.  Bob
13.53 @ 105.32

Mike DC

stroker kit + low/moderate compression ratio + buy the camshaft/carb/cylinder heads/exhaust all about one good notch bigger than stock = fun street motor without headaches.  

Doing this is basically taking the stock 440 Magnum setup and growing the whole motor a notch bigger than stock.  It keeps all the major parts in about the same proportions to each other as the stocker, which keeps the whole thing well mannered. 

The only downside is that it burns more gas than the stocker (it's just a bigger motor, remember?).  But if you keep the compression ratio low then it could be fine running on the crap 87 octane stuff.

1BAD68