News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

No elec. power "anywhere" inside the car

Started by Hoggywood, March 25, 2008, 01:33:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hoggywood

I'm new at this elec. stuff. I wanted to check the fuse box but only found a small one (6 ? fuses) just below and to the left of the glove box.  I changed "everything" under the hood and even the ground wire from the motor to the fire wall, still no power inside as if there was no battery.

Hoggywood

Forgot to mention the car ( 1968 Dodge Charger R/T S, 440 ) Only modification a year ago was electronic ignition and electric fan.

Just 6T9 CHGR

Check the connections at the firewall junction connector....fairly common Mopar problem to have corrosion in these connectors....

PS---welcome to the site :wave:
Chris' '69 Charger R/T

Hoggywood

I found a wiring diagram on-line, I looked it over and apperntly the main hot wire goes through the fire wall through the juntion you were talking about and then straight to the ammeter gauge.  I loosened up the dash cluster and pulled it out about 4 inches because thats as far as it would go with all the stuff still plugged in. fortunatly the ammeter is on the far right where I could look at the back. the red wire was loose and when I wiggled it the dome light came on "Bingo". but the down side is the post that connects that wire is loose inside the ammeter. unless I figure out another way it looks like I will have to remove the intire dash face to seporate the gauge retainer from the dash face because it is all one piece. Next where to find another ammeter to match.  thanks for the help 6T9

resq302