News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Rear end install--what's wrong?

Started by Brian in GA, September 12, 2007, 11:09:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian in GA

Ok, here's the story.  The 68 R/T body I bought was missing the rear end chunk and both axles.  I bought a 3.23 sure grip 489 case, and also two 8 3/4 axles at a swap meet.  I test fitted them last weekend, before I bought and installed new bearings/seals. 

Here's the problem:  The axles don't slide into the chunk until I get to the actual step of tightening them down.  It's like they're only seating an inch or so on each side.  This didn't seem right to me.  I'm no mechanic by a long shot, but I do use a 68 shop manual to help me along.  I figured maybe the axles were too short.  So, I took an axle from another 68 project, and they were the same length! 

So, maybe the center chunk isn't wide enough?  If I understand right, the 489 case didn't come about until after model year 1968.  Is it "narrower" than what originally came in my R/T?  I don't know how to proceed, so any help would be appreciated.  I can post pics, if necessary.  When I removed the axle from the other project 68, it actually fit in the splines, then slid another couple inches until you tightened it.  The R/T doesn't fit into the grooves until it is actually at the tightening point.  Maybe the housing is too long?  Although it appears to be original. 

Any advice is appreciated.   :brickwall:

Steve P.

I am a bit confused. (Nothing new there)...  Does one side fit in correctly and not the other or are both not going in properly??
Steve P.
Holiday, Florida

Brian in GA

Steve, it's both.  I thought for sure when I did the test fit that my axles were too short, but I pulled one from another 68 charger and they were the same length.