News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Bad Gas?

Started by colocolino, November 22, 2006, 02:17:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

colocolino

Hey fellas, Im looking for any information related to this topic. I moved away from my baby for a year an a half and wasn't able to start her up during that time or properly store her. Now im back and worried. What should i look out for? I replaced the battery and dont want to turn the key with the nagging feeling I should replace the gas but how do i tell if it indeed needs replacing or can it be diluted with fresh gas? If you can't tell im an amateur and in need of some direction. Thanks again for any input.

Ghoste

If the gas is stale, one smell is all it will take.  It is one of the worst smells you can imagine.  If it's only been sitting a year though, it should start although it may not run well and will be down on power.  It canbe diluted with good stuff so top it up and run it out and fill it again. 
Unless of course, you are dealing with a race engine and then you don't want to screw around with it.

70charger_boy

yeah the smell of rusted gas is really bad.  I wouldn't be afraid to run it if the motor blows rebuild it.  I doubt the motor will blow anyway

Steve P.

If your gas stinks, (it probably will), you can empty the tank into a fuel rated drum and take it to your county dump. I believe all counties in the states provide a place for chemicals and everywhere I have taken old paint and gas have taken it for free. They properly handle it from there.  Hopefully you didn't leave allot in the tank.

I have done this a number of times myself. I use an old trick to do it.

First you will need a suitable container for the spent gas. Make sure it is big enough to hold what you've got in the tank.