News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Ho my the price of paint

Started by charger chris, June 25, 2016, 08:01:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

moparchris

Just some simple comments.  I'm not a professional painter but have painted 5 Charger's over the years.  Four were single stage and one was base/clear because of the metallic (FK5).  Yes, paint is very expensive now.  It is not 30 years ago!!  Red is by far the most expensive color because of the pigments required, but also because it is the most widely sprayed color and the companies can get away with some price gouging. 
There are always variables concerning the cost of materials and the biggest one is "what level of material are you willing to pay for and/or live with?  Every paint company has different levels of "quality" if you will.  You can go top of the line PPG or use their Shop-Line level of paint.  Both are "PPG" paint but one is 2-3 times as expensive.  Just like Dodge.  If you want a Dodge product are you going to spend the $ for a Hellcat or buy a Challenger SXT?
With base/clear you are not only paying for the color, but also the clear and the reducers and hardeners, which can often be different items between the color and clear.  Even for single stage jobs you need reducer and hardener for the paint.  Don't forget the primer/sealer if you take the body down to bare metal, and then the build primer that you sand 85% of off the car and then the sealer over the last of the build primer.
In short, there is no way to paint a car "cheaply" anymore.  It just boils down to how much you want or can afford to spend.

Brock Lee

Quote from: charge69 on June 28, 2016, 10:53:27 AM

I prefer a good SS paint over the super-glossy, almost fake-looking, BC/CC. They automatically look over-restored to me.  Just my opinion.