News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

valve cover wont fit???

Started by hard-charger, December 11, 2015, 05:01:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hard-charger

Hi, a buddy of mine has a nice 440 just rebuilt. But when the heads went on, the adjusting side of the rocker arm were not allowing the vave cover to seat onto the rail. They seem to bulky. Im no expert in the matter, but i was wondering how this could happen, and advice on how to fix it? It has 440 source roller rockers. On stage 6 heads, 440source aluminum fab valve covers. Thanks!

Ghoste

It does happen when you start mixing and matching stuff that isn't stock.  In this case it might be a better question for 440 Source although someone here might know.  Something with the heads?

BSB67

Not uncommon.  Depending on the specifics, could be a few ways to fix it.  No big deal.

500" NA, Eddy head, pump gas, exhaust manifold with 2 1/2 exhaust with tailpipes
4150 lbs with driver, 3.23 gear, stock converter
11.68 @ 120.2 mph

hard-charger

Hi, thanks for the replies.

I was wondering what things can be done to fix it? I was thinking maybe grind off alittle bit of the inner valve cover. It has i little inner lip on it. Someone i know suggested grinding off the back adjuster end of the rocker. But rather not. I saw shims to raise the shaft might help. But then the geometry will be off and my need lash caps or somthing.
Any suggestions would be priceless. Thanks again.

BSB67

Quote from: hard-charger on December 11, 2015, 04:48:02 PM
Hi, thanks for the replies.