News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Our cars are rare, I just didn't realize how rare

Started by Firetodd, May 12, 2014, 10:29:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ITSA426

I don't like to get into that argument.  Too many experts!  I'm guessing the grille emblems were painted from the back side and a metallic underlayment was placed behind the red paint to give a metallic red look.  I'm just guessing, but think the underlayment was gold colored.  As the red faded the gold colored metallic underlayment showed through.  At one time I had one, I removed from a parts car, that had some red still left on it but was mostly gold.  My kid brother restores them and uses a silver colored metallic finish behind the red paint, and a better quality paint.  I worked in a shop that did some of this type of work for the auto industry back in the day.  You have to know what the technology was, and the quality of paints available at the time.  We didn't make these parts so I'm just guessing.  I'm not an expert though. Authentic NOS ones will fade just like the originals.  Just my opinion, not trying to pick an argument.

Firetodd

Interesting to read all this info.  To be be clear, I wasnt saying that my car was the only headrest 67 Charger. I was merely saying that it was the only red one with white interior with a 383 4bbl with the headrest option in the registry anywhere in the world. If it came across otherwise, I am sorry.

It is very cool that our cars are so unique in the car world. And that feels good. That is all.

Ghoste