News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Wheel Alignment Gauges

Started by dodge freak, June 18, 2006, 08:55:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dodge freak

Took my control arms off this weekend and had my auto part store install new bushings and ball joints, now all I have to do is set the camber/caster and toe. Yes the repairs shops could do it but would rather spend a little more and do myself so I know its done right and can recheck it when I feel like it. Does anybody know some good gauges that would be good for a DYS. SPC performance has one Summit wants $150 for it w/o toe gauge, has anybody used this or know a good one. I have done alignments before when I work in a shop but that was with those $10,000 units that I don't have room for let alone the $10,000.

TylerCharger69

Front end alignment should be done on an alignment rack.   You can get close doing it yourself, but it won't be perfect

Chryco Psycho

I used a digital 24" level & a tape measure & have done better alignments than  $10.000 machines
basically max the castor tip the upper ball joint as far back as possible  , adjust the upper control arm to get 1/2* negative camber , this will compromise the castor somewhat , then set you toe in with a tape measure somewhere between 1/8 & 1/4 depending on tire width & speed you tend to travel at

dodge freak