News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

To build or to have built a stroker from a 383

Started by XH29N0G, May 24, 2012, 08:14:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

XH29N0G

I am trying to decide whether to build my first engine or to have it built by a professional.

I find the idea of building an engine very appealing .  I am a novice but what I have is time.  I have only gone so far with basic things like carb, intake, transmission, clutch, headers, cam.  

I would like to build/have built a stroker using a spare 383 block I have.  Do not yet know what size and will ask about that later (once I figure out whether I am doing this or not).

To decide, I need advice/input on feasibility & cost.  I am assuming the two options will have similar costs, but do not know if this is true.  If it looks feasible to build, I will be writing to ask what options might be best for me (it is a street driven car), books to rely on, tools, etc....

I appreciate all of the feedback I have had so far from the DC forum because it has really helped me to solve the issues that have arisen so far.  

I thank everyone in advance for their suggestions.

Who in their right mind would say

"The science should not stand in the way of this."? 

Science is just observation and hypothesis.  Policy stands in the way.........

Or maybe it protects us. 

I suppose it depends on the specific case.....

Chryco Psycho