News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Best heads for a 500ci stroker

Started by ChargerST, March 28, 2011, 10:36:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChargerST

I'm thinking about getting a 500ci stroker (440 block) built but have no clue which heads I should use. Motor should be pump gas friendly and not a race only engine (broad powerband - ports shouldn't be too large)

What are the best heads in terms of:

flow? MP Stage VI CNC ported (Chapman design)?

bang for the buck? Eddies (CNC), Indy (out of the box), Indy (CNC), 440 source,...

any other good heads? what's possible in terms of porting an Eddy/Indy head?

Thanks

Long Island RT

I'm no expert- but the few things I learned from this site tend me to ask:

What kind of power are looking to develop?
What kind of money are looking to spend?
Street only or do you want to hit the track?

The cam choice will be just as important as the heads.
1969 Dodge Charger RT Restomod<br />Triple Black, 512 stroker, Tremec TKO600 5-speed<br />2005 Dodge Magnum RT - Brilliant Black - Lowered

ChargerST

Good questions!

Power wise: as much as possible to be still drivable on the street. 90% street driven.
Maybe I should reformulate my question:

What power levels can be achieved with certain heads and still be streetable?

Haven't decided on any parts yet but here's the outline I was thinking about:

440 block -> 500 ci (440source balanced)
10.5:1 compression
zero deck (dish pistons probably needed)
cam: either flat tapped or roller
iron ductile rocker arms
dual plane intake? -> low end torque
Dough Thorley or TTI headers  (1 7/8"?)

Engine should have lots of low end and middle band torque.