News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Harmonic Dampers...Which one?

Started by elacruze, October 20, 2010, 08:07:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

elacruze

I have two dampers to choose from; a genuine Fluidamper and an SFI-approved rubber ring damper.

Any opinions on which is more suitable to the 505" wedge, for long-term street driving?
1968 505" EFI 4-speed
1968 D200 Camper Special, 318/2bbl/4spd/4.10
---
Torque converters are for construction equipment.

Ghoste

The SFI rubber ring one.  Making it perfectly clear from the start that I have no experience with the fluid ones whatsoever, my secondhand anecdotal experience has been that of people telling me the fluid filled dampers slip under regular street use.  The rubber ones are frequently shot as 40 year old originals but how many years did they work fine prior to the rubber finally succumbing to age?  For the money difference, I like the rubber.

elacruze

Ghoste,

I'm leaning hard towards the rubber for exactly the reason you think so. The durability is unquestioned. However, two considerations; I've used Fluidampers on everything since they first became available. They always make a noticeable improvement in smoothness. I put one on my 6.2 Diesel pickup because the stock one went south, and I was awestruck at the difference. Of course, the stock one wasn't doing anything so a new-stock to Fluidamper comparison may have been less impressive.
I've not heard of Genuine Fluidampers failing, but they are 2-3 times more expensive than other brand fluid dampers and I have no input on what happens after 20,000 miles.  :shruggy:

My question is really kinda a shot in the dark to see if anyone has any idea about the torsional vibration characteristics of a 4.25" stroke crank vs. stock 3.75".
1968 505" EFI 4-speed
---

Ghoste