News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Can Someone Please Check Out My Ignition Diagram

Started by dodgecharger72, November 10, 2009, 01:23:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dodgecharger72

I am in the middle of rewiring my 72 and I just wired my ignition today. I would really appreciate some input as to whether or not this is correct. The previous ignition was points so the diagram I drew up before I ripped the old harness out is useless. I cant just turn the key to see if it will start yet because my steering column and starter are still unwired. I have been studying diagrams and manuals for weeks now and this is the best i could come up with.  Please forgive me for any gross errors. I am really new to this car stuff and know next to nothing about electrical wiring. Thanks a lot guys

btw... its an EZ harness with a Mancini Racing Mopar electronic conversion kit

John_Kunkel

On the original '72 setup the hot wire to the ballast resistor didn't come from the fuse box, it came from the ignition switch and therein lies the problem with your schematic.

The Mopar ignition switch has two ignition circuits, IGN1 and IGN2; IGN1 has power when the key is in the RUN position but shuts of when the key is in the START position. IGN2 is powered only when the key is in the START position and shuts off when the key is in the RUN position.

In order to make your setup work as drawn you'll have to splice the IGN1 and IGN2 wires together in order to have power in both the START and RUN positions. IGN1 is normally a dark blue wire and IGN2 is brown.
Pardon me but my karma just ran over your dogma.

dodgecharger72