News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Need som advice on a 400

Started by troy.70R/T, October 31, 2009, 11:42:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

troy.70R/T

I recently purchased a 68 Charger R/T with no motor or trans. I just want to make a driver out of the car for now while I finish my 70 R/T.  The questions I have are. Does any one make a motor mount conversion kit to allow me to bolt the 1975 400 up to my 68 440 K-frame?  The motor came out of a Plymouth wagon it is a 400 2 barrel. It ran good when I bought the wagon 10 years ago. I have no experience with 400's I was just wondering what I could do to get some good power out of the motor with out dumping alot of cash into it. I plan on beating the hell out of this motor until it blows. All I am planning so far is a set of headers and a 750 vacuum secondary Holley carb. Should I put in a diffrent cam? I am not sure of the gear ratio in the rear yet but I was going to put some 4:10 in the rear. I am also using the trans from the same car. Any advice or direction to some good links would be appreciated. Thanks Troy

idahogrumpy

Just put the 68-71 motor mounts on the 400 and it will drop in. use the 400 torque converter, or one that has the correct balance for the 400. Grumpy
Too much to say
Too much to do
Too tired to get it done
Too stubborn to give up
GRUMPY
Modified 73 440 Charger, 03 Intrepid SXT, 02 Neon and 2001 Ram 1500 .

troy.70R/T

thankyou I appreciate the information.

idahogrumpy

Also 4:10 gears might be a little steep for the street with that 400 with out a deep oil pan or hemi pan and other internal oil pressure circuit mods.  Build it like a 383. Cam, Carb, etc.
Grumpy
Too much to say
Too much to do
Too tired to get it done
Too stubborn to give up
GRUMPY