News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

69' Charger Headliner Installation help:

Started by Captain D, October 18, 2007, 08:39:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Captain D

Hi there,

I'm a newbie at restoration, and I am ready to install a new headliner into my 69' Charger.

For someone who's about to do this for the first time...can some of you guys walk me through the best steps to take, like a tutorial, so that it turns out right the first time round'? I have the headliner, the rods, and the clips. Is there anything else that I should get, tips, suggestions, ect...

Thank you for your help,
Aaron

AKcharger

BlueSS454

Add in alot of patience also.  I'm actually working on this myself with my 69.  So far I have 6 hours in it and I'm at the point where it's time to do the sail panel areas.
Tom Rightler

BlueSS454

I finished mine earlier today.  What a major PITA with those sail panels.  It put my patience to the test is all I can say.  It has a few wrinkles in it, but I saved myself over $300, and I can say yup, I did it, I conquered it.  Here is a pic of the result.

Tom Rightler

Captain D

Thank you for the replies,

As for my old headliner...well, there wasn't much left of it. So, I don't really have anything to build off of. The only things that I do have are the metal rods that hold up the headliner, the clips that the rods fit onto, and I cut out new sail panel wood pieces.

BTW, great job on your headliner!

High regards,
Aaron

AKcharger

I wouldn't get too wrapped up about the sail panels, they came from the factory wrinkled, none were perfect...and if you see some that are you know they've been redone

69bronzeT5

Feature Editor for Mopar Connection Magazine
http://moparconnectionmagazine.com/

1969 Charger: T5 Copper 383 Automatic