News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

1968 Charger - 440 to 528 Conversion

Started by charlie45, December 29, 2012, 11:30:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

charlie45

After many discussions and research, I'm leaning in the direction of going with a Ray Barton 528 instead of a new 500 Stroker.

Yes, its quite a bit more expensive. However, in the long run it will definitely make the car more unique and increase the re-sale value. Hemi is Hemi, right? ;)

But since I'm quite the novice here, I really want to know a complete list of things that will be needed to make this conversion (i.e. all parts, mounts, transmission stuff, etc.)

The car is an original 4-Speed (A833). I know Schumacher Creative Services makes the motor mount conversion kits (which I'll need), but what else is required?

I'm also putting new Wilwood 6 Pistons in the front and will get the Willwood master cylinder (http://www.summitracing.com/parts/wil-260-8555-bk): I'm assuming this will fit fine with the new engine...???

What else do I need?

Charger-Bodie

I used a revamped k-frame from MegaParts. It fit perfect. They take regular k frames and replace the mount stuff with reproction Hemi parts and viola a factory looking part. I like that method far better than the conversion mounts.
68 Charger R/t white with black v/t and red tailstripe. 440 4 speed ,black interior
68 383 auto with a/c and power windows. Now 440 4 speed jj1 gold black interior .
My Charger is a hybrid car, it burns gas and rubber............

charlie45

Quote from: 1HotDaytona on December 29, 2012, 11:38:53 AM