News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Edelbrock 1407 running rich

Started by Mar10n83, December 18, 2012, 08:51:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mar10n83

Hi

Just got my first 1970 Charger.
The eingine is a 440 with Edelbrock CH4B intake and a Edelbrock 1407 carb.
The guy i got the car from told me it was running too rich, and i dont think it performs that well...

Question is, how can i fix this? I'm fairly new to carb adjusting so please be gentle :P

Regards
Martin from Norway :D

Dino

Martin, I have the same carb and I refer to it as my paperweight.  Mine runs rich at idle, so rich that it'll burn your eyes when you're near the car, and it runs lean on WOT.  The one thing I like about the carb is that you never have to touch it once dialed in but yeah it doesn't perform all that great (ironic for a 'performer').  Edelbrock does sell a tune up kit for these and I've heard it does help.  If you're sticking with that carb then I'd get the kit but if you have access to something else you may consider doing so.  If you want to stay with Edelbrock, I hear the Thunder series is a much better carb.  Most people here swear by Holleys and Proforms.

You can also find videos on how to adjust the carb on youtube.

Good intake manifold though.

Oh and welcome to the board!
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

HPP