News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Regulator/ Alternator/ Amp Meter woes = meltdown

Started by sebarger, September 30, 2012, 12:22:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sebarger

Hey everyone...yes as the title implies, problems in paradise...

First off, a quick self-intro as I am a newbie here :-). After a few years deliberation and much searching, I am the proud owner of my first '68 Charger, 383 3 speed automatic, GL replica :2thumbs:. Reading through a bunch of the posts here, I'm getting a crash course on the electrical woes that seem to be this car's Achilles heel so seeking advice on what the problem might be and the best upgrade(s) to do to improve performance and ensure piece of mind (Quick disclaimer - I am a total novice when it comes to anything beyond the basics of electrical systems).

A little background...

We took her on her first day trip a couple of weekends ago and backing into the garage upon our return the engine literally just cut out with no warning. Odd as I would have expected it to be fully charged after a day out and there was no indication of discharge (the amp meter dipped negative now and again but had been pretty much "flat" all day). Turning the key made the tell tale clicking sound as if the battery were dead so put on some jumper cables and bang - she roared back to life.

My electronically savvy friend brought his voltage tester over and he quickly deduced that the regulator was shot. Blue power lead in from ignition was fine showing 5v but nothing was coming out of the other terminal (green lead to the alternator). Further, exciting the green lead to the alternator manually resulted in charge from the alternator so the alternator seemed fine. The regulator appears to be the manual variety and looks like this: