News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Newbie pinion angle primer

Started by GTX, December 08, 2005, 10:22:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GTX

Ok, I admit that I don't know much about all of this (I'm still learning much after many years) and I'll bet a few others don't either but don't want to speak up.

So, Ron or Neil or someone, would it be asking a lot to jot down a basic primer for pinion angle and it's effects?
I've read a few posts here and there on the topic but nothing that really explains everything.

Anyone care to write a primer? What is optimal and why, what happens if you are not in that range?

Thanks!!!

Blown70

Not sure if this will help but the pinion angle will depend on the suspension your are running.  Leaf, Ladder, 4-link. 

Now for the others to tell you the degrees :icon_smile_big:

Chryco Psycho

to give the basic idea as power is tranmitted to the diff the pinion will try to climb the ring gear , & the best way to transmit power is through a straight driveshaft so no power is lost in the U jiont with it being at an angle so as the power is applied & the diff twists on the springs & end up in a straight line with the driveshaft.   The actual degree is dictated by how much torque you are making , How much traction you have & how soft the leaf springs are or how much they will deflect , clamping the front section of the spring tight with a Square top U bolt with allow less distortion in the spring . Having the spring deflect & snap straight will cause wheel hop , & I have seen some high torque cars wind the spring up enough that it stays bent after 1 run on slicks , generally if you are bending the springs you serious need to lok at Ladderbars or 4 link