News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Your Job

Started by MoparMotel, January 30, 2006, 11:57:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

volk68

I agree.  Being able to enjoy your job is important, because you are going to spend more time at work than at home.  If you hate your job, you're basically going to hate 70 hours of your life every week (and in some cases, more).  On the other hand, it is called work for a reason, and very few people will ever have a job that they love ALL the time.  It's a balance.

Myself, I work in radio.  I have been in radio since I graduated from college almost 9 years ago.  The pay isn't going to make you rich, but the work (up until recently) has been pretty diverse and interesting.  The plus side of this business is that it is possible to get payed to talk, play music, build/repair computers, hang out at parties, and get lots of free stuff.  The drawbacks are long hours (as everyone in the chat room can attest to), low vacation time, huge egos, and at the management level, very high corporate pressure.  Corporate pressure has really cranked up at my job over the last several months, and several of us are contemplating a mass exodus.

If I could do things over, I would probably have pursued my video editing/animation skills a little harder than I did.  I have always enjoyed video editing and 3D animation, but the market was very hard to get into.  I just missed a position at NBC and have been in radio ever since.  I'm not sure the market is what it used to be though, since it's pretty easy to create high quality video work from almost any new PC these days.  Still, if I could get into that business, I would do it in a heartbeat.

ChgrSteve67

I think for a lot of us our current job chose us, we did not choose it.