News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Buying a 69-70, Need some advice

Started by vick79, April 24, 2012, 02:21:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vick79

Hello Everyone, This is the first time shopping for my dream muscle car. Ive been lurking for about a year, but checking out what the market has to offer the last month. Im overwhelmed and confused about my choices and how to go about it. Feel like im working blind, Id like some advise.

Some background on my skill level - Im a hobbyist comfortable working on cars, including mechanical, electrical and bodywork (priming and paint, but NOT welding). I have a welder, but my welds are not great. Ive never taken an engine or transmission out of a car before, but ive done headgaskets, exhaust, suspension, diffs etc. Im used to working on BMWs, never a classis american car before. I would like to do as much work as possible myself in my garage. Buying any tools is not a problem, thats on a different budget.

I eventually want a clean 69-70 black/black RT 440 car with a restored clean interior, because i am OCD. I dont want a trailer queen, but something that has some "collectable" value, that i can drive on sundays.

Now I can find "restored" non-matching cars, non-correct colors available that fit the bill offered around 39-40k. The last thing I want is a bondo bucket, with "fresh" paint slapped over a different color. Some of these cars are sold by muscle car restoration companies that churn out cars quite often, do these companies usually do quality work? Its much less hassle buying a charger this way, but how much are these cars really worth? I think 40k is high, am i wrong? Do these cars retain any value down the road?