News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Part Identification Time: Would this be the problem?

Started by Surf Charger, February 27, 2012, 08:12:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Surf Charger

Evening gents. So I get everything put back together and go to fire up the charger....but nothing. Check the batter...its good. All grounds are good. Battery cables good...connection to starter good. No fuses blown, etc.

So I use a piece of wire to bypass this solenoid pictured below (i'm guessing its the solenoid..but I'm new to chargers so what do I know!). Either way, it cranked up fine if I bypass it with a piece of wire. Took my meter and checked voltage going through each wire...all connections are getting power...just not sure about the connection from the ignition switch to the solenoid. I turn the key and get nothing..not even a click. But if I jump a wire across this solenoid, it fires right up.

So the question lies there....where can I get another one of these?... and do you indeed think that is the problem?

skip68

Starter relay, Autozone has them for $12.   Check your ignition switch and make sure all the wires are hooked up.
skip68, A.K.A. Chuck \ 68 Charger 440 auto\ 67 Camaro RS (no 440)       FRANKS & BEANS !!!

skip68

Try moving the shifter around with the key in the start position.   Could be a neutral safety switch issue....   I've had that problem before. 
skip68, A.K.A. Chuck \ 68 Charger 440 auto\ 67 Camaro RS (no 440)       FRANKS & BEANS !!!

Surf Charger

Quote from: skip68 on February 27, 2012, 08:21:05 PM
Try moving the shifter around with the key in the start position.   Could be a neutral safety switch issue....   I've had that problem before.