News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

smoke wafting from exhaust after stopping engine

Started by Wolfie, February 28, 2012, 03:17:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wolfie

so i was warming my car up this morning and had to stop the engine to run upstairs to use the bathroom but noticed when i stopped the car that there was smoke wafting from one of the tail pipes. i stood watching for a while because i wasnt sure if something was burning inside but didnt smell any sort of burning smell? is this normal? ive never noticed it before. the smoke went away after a few minutes
New to the muscle car/mopar addiction so bare with the "dumb" things I'm likely to ask all of you. Just trying to learn and gotta start somewhere! Cheers!

Wolfie

i thought id add this as well - again im new to cars and trying to learn. i also notice the clear liquid shooting out upon starting the engine. i was worried i had a fuel leak as was suggested to me before in a previous post of mine (abouts plumes of smoke while warming car up) but got it checked out and the guy said all was fine. btw, the smoke im referencing above 'wafting' appeared more as if it was a cigarette with smoke slowly burning off the end, not the standard plumes of smoke upon start up/idle of the car,etc.

sorry if these are 'stupid' or 'newb' questions, but help me learn fellas!  :-\

New to the muscle car/mopar addiction so bare with the "dumb" things I'm likely to ask all of you. Just trying to learn and gotta start somewhere! Cheers!

Just 6T9 CHGR

Normal condensation in exhaust upon cold start.....byproduct of combustion.  When exhaust heats up it burns this condensation off (white fog from exhaust)