News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Build advice...yup another one

Started by ugly2u, July 21, 2011, 01:25:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ugly2u

:yesnod:

I m a total beginner when it comes to building engines. I have read tons of posts and a big block book. I know just enough to buy the wrong stuff and be disappointed. So many people on the board have been very helpful, and i was hoping for some advise. I could not have built this car from the boxes of parts I bought without your help. Thank you in advance.

I pulled the motor after it was making some horrible knocking noise, that seemed like a spun bearing. As I tore it apart, I couldn't find the problem. Im guessing it was a blown lifter, but am waiting to hear from the machine shop. I only found #8 with oil in the cylinder. It only has 3000 mile on it since rebuild and restoration. Now the car is sitting with no motor, and I figure I might as well add some performance while I have it apart.

here is what I have and will probably keep
'69 440 block bored .030 over
HP exhaust manifolds
3" exhaust with H pipe and flowmaster 70
stock oil pump
850 CFM AVS edelbrock carb
pushrods
unknown pistons and rods- flat on the top
TCI 3000 stall converter
727 trans
3.23 8 3/4 rear

thinking about buying
edelbrock 60929 heads 84cc
edelbrock performer intake
lunati cam (which one?)
milodon 7 qt pan with windage tray

I drive the charger a lot. While I love excess power, I would drive it less if gas mileage was 5 MPG. any idea what MPG I can expect from a combo like this? is it worth stroking the motor while i'm in there?

I like the track, but it mostly sees street driving. Thanks for your help, I'm ready to drive...

HardCharger500

Hi.  Below is my engine combo & performance.