News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Who rebuilds thermoquads and what cost am I looking at?

Started by Dino, May 20, 2012, 08:26:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dino

I know Demonsizzler used to rebuild them but he has quit doing them.  I found another but he's asking $400 + shipping and that's way beyond my budget.  I don't care if it's chrome plated, I just want it to be clean and running.  It's a 6545S.

I have posted about doing this myself and if I can't find or afford someone else to do it then that's what I need to do.  But seeing I've never done this before and my time is very limited it may not happen soon.
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

471_Magnum

Key to rebuilding a thermoquad is starting with a good unwarped, uncracked core with tight throttle shafts. The tear down and reassembly is easy.

The 6545 is a truck carb. Not really calibrated for performance. The good news is that it is a big block carb with the 1 1/2" primary bores, and should have minimal smog junk on it.

If you can' find someone local, drop me a PM.  In a few weeks (after I'm back from the Power Tour), I can probably help you out.
"I can fix it... my old man is a television repairman... he's got the ultimate set of tools... I can fix it."

Dino

It looks to be in really good shape, just dirty.  I know it ran when removed.  Po wanted an eddy performer intake and carb so the tq was stuffed in an, apparently, open box.

I'm just cruising this car, not planning on visiting a track.  That said the gain in mpg better be good if I'm going to lose performance over the eddy 1407 but somehow I doubt it will.  Which tq model would you recommend instead?

chargerbr549