News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Oil Pump Priming Rod

Started by FARMER, March 17, 2011, 05:16:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FARMER

I am new at this, stupid questions, better to ask than fix. I'm learning.
I have a 1969 mopar 318 v8 engine. Completely rebuilt. They suggest to prime the oil pump before starting.
I pulled the distributer out, I only see a gear and in the middle, a slot inside the gear where the distributer engages.
I bought a new priming rod tool to run the oil pump. This is what the auto store got me. The priming rod is just hexed on the end. How does the rod get to the oil pump? I thought you go thru the distributer opening?
I can't see where to attach the rod, maybe its the wrong rod? Could someone assist me and tell me how to prime the oil pump? What should the tool look like. Thanks.

dstryr

I believe you are seeing the intermediate shaft.  You'll need to pull it out to get the priming rod to the pump.
dstryr, since 1986.

Bill of Rights
Must be 18. Void where prohibited. Not available in all states. Some restrictions apply.

maxwellwedge

You have to pull that gear out - the rod has to go all the way down into the pump. Stick a slotted screwdriver in the slot and slowly twist....it should disengage from the cam teeth and rise up enough to where you can grab it and pull it out. Note the direction of the slot before you twist it out.....that is if they put it in properly in the first place.

FARMER

So the priming rod goes down thru the gear to the pump? I tried using a screw driver to turn the slot where the distributor goes in, I can't turn it, either direction. Is it expose to turn easy? Do I need to make a tool to turn that slotted shaft?
Thanks for advise. Appreciate it very much.

daveco