News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Any framers still awake?

Started by bull, January 04, 2006, 01:07:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bull

Tonight I'm putting in one of those pull-down attic ladders but in the attic over my garage there's a 2x6 in my way. It looks like a temporary brace to me and I'm wondering if I can remove it without causing any structural damage. It's positioned right about where your head would pop up through the opening and due to the contractors running wires all over the place that's the only feasible place to put the ladder.

In the picture here it's the 2x6 that runs diagonally from the "floor" joists up to the outer wall. Can I take it out? It's held in by two nails against the wall and 2 or 3 toenailed in at the bottom.

Blown70

Well I am not a PRO.
However one summer I helped build 3 houses... and did it all not all this specialized contracting.... Roofing, sheet rock, etc.  ( btw I am ALL for the sub contrcting)

Anyway,   we would brace the outer wall rafter up like that to start but once everything was done and the sheeting was on the roof... We took them down?  ALL the houses still have the roof and are not leaning.

I was in my house last year and did not see anything of the sort.... Same rafter design.

TOM

bull

Thanks for the input, Tom. I will leave it in for a while, at least while I'm putting the ladder in, but after that and after I insulate and put down some plywood to walk on I'll probably take it of there out if no one here cries foul.

Silver R/T

it doesnt serve for anything else but holding that wall there while roof is being covered. Ive seen people add another room in their ceiling like that and they didnt have it just insulate walls and roof and put sheetrock or plywood and you got another room