News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Carburetor - Intake Combination - 400 Magnum

Started by WindJammer, April 14, 2015, 11:11:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WindJammer

Hey guys, I have a 1972 Charger my Dad bought new in 72'

He had the factory carb replaced way back. A Holley is all I can determine. The mech who did it said that it would get him where he needed to but would need to be replaced.

Well I want to replace it now but im not sure what with. Ive read here and there a Holley 750 double pumper should do just fine. Ive read some articles too about CFM up to 850 but that particular engine was on a dyno and an intake manifold the size of a toilet! Im not a mechanic but I know there are a lot of solid guys here that have helped many out with some great ideas.

I know there are countless things to consider. Right now the engine is straight factory original. At some point I would like to heat it up a little bit with a better intake manifold, higher performing cam, valve job etc.

But heres my question: Is there a carb out there that can get me driving it around this summer as a bolt on AND give me room to improve and expand with the rest of the block when the time comes??

I have a bitchin' mechanic that wants to do an engine flush and compression test etc to see where see are at for a starting point. Any tips would be great!

Oh and some pics!! Original Paint and vinyl hard top

c00nhunterjoe

4777 holley (650) or 4779 (750) if you plan to do a cam intKe and headers.

BSB67

Do you know specifically what is on it now?  That should be a spread bore intake manifold, right?

I there something actually wrong with what you have now?

500" NA, Eddy head, pump gas, exhaust manifold with 2 1/2 exhaust with tailpipes
4150 lbs with driver, 3.23 gear, stock converter