News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

727 quick shift

Started by Kyles69, September 04, 2009, 02:42:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyles69

Hey there all!  I've got a 69 Charger with a 440 and a 727 trans!  I'm new to the MOPAR lineup, but this car seems to shift way too soon under normal driving conditions!  It will be in third gear by the time I've crossed an intersection from a dead stop!  Under hard acceleration is not quite as bad!  Someone told me a shift kit would help this but I'm not sure!  Is there an adjustment for this on the tranny or carb (carb is an aftermarket Edlebrock), if so can you please give me the details on the adjustment(s)!  Thank you in advance!

John_Kunkel

The factory spec for light throttle upshifts has the trans in 3rd gear before 20 mph. If that doesn't suit you, the linkage that runs from the carb to the transmission can be adjusted for earlier or later upshifts.

This throttle pressure linkage (often misnamed "kickdown linkage") won't work properly on your Edelbrock carb without the correct Mopar throttle lever extension (Edelbrock #1481). Once all the correct parts are in place the upper rod of the linkage can be lengthened for later shifts or shortened for earlier shifts to suit your personal preference.
Pardon me but my karma just ran over your dogma.

greenpigs

So..if you don't use the kick down is the 1481 necessary? I have a MV body in my 727.
1969 Charger RT

Living Chevy free

John_Kunkel

The 1481 also positions the throttle cable properly but it's not as critical as the linkage position.

mikes4692003

which way would you move the linkage for later shift points

John_Kunkel