News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

68 383 2bbl

Started by 92454ss, February 16, 2010, 10:36:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

92454ss

well iam going to derby a 68 new yorker and i found out the engine in  it is a 383 2bbl r those any good in hp? what would i need to do to fit it in my 73 charger that came stock with a small block?

my1st68charger

I'm no expert but i was told they r not the same as a magnum 4bbl eng.cam, pistons,heads,valves etc are all different.I have the same thing 68 2bbl newport eng.I was told if i were to put a 4bbl intake and carb it would do nothing to improve power,unless your just goin for looks.Myself I think what i'm goin to do is put a 4bbl intake and carb,just go for looks because I won't be driving fast with my car ,I'm not a fast driver.I'm glad you posted this topic up because these guys on here will tell you what you need to know and 1 thing I'd like to find out is what would be a good size 4bbl carb for a 2bbl eng without changing cams or anthing but just the intake and headers .600 cfm maybe???

covet66

Pretty sure a factory intake and Carter carb for a '69 automatic 383 car is a 625cfm. I am running this on my '66 Charger with a 400 block.

Charger RT