News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

What has to be done to change shift points on a 727 tranny on 69 Roadrunner?

Started by 1Bad70Charger, January 17, 2010, 01:59:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1Bad70Charger

I have a torque flight 727 in my 69 Roadunner with 3.91 gears, and soon will be putting in a new dynamic 9.5 inch street/strip converter along with a Transgo TF 2 shift kit in my 727 tranny.  

I want to adjust my shift point for the car to shift around 6200 rpm and currently it shifs around 5300 rpm.  I am not a mechanic but I would think that some adjustment needs to be made to the the tranny itself to change the shift points on a tf 727 B-Body Mopar.

How exactly does one change the shift points, as a local mechanic told me it is done by changing the length of the throttle cable (or something like that not positive exactly what he said) but it had nothing to do with going inside the 727 tranny itself so now I am curious how this is done?

Thanks in advance.  :cheers:
48 year old Self Employed Trial Lawyer (I fight the ambulance chasers); 1969 Plymouth Roadrunner A12 Tribute Car, Built 505ci; Silver 2008 Hemi Dodge Challenger SRT8, Black 2006 Corvette Z06 427ci LS7-Keep God First, Family Second and Horsepower Third.  Interests:  God, Fast American Cars (old and new), Classic Muscle Cars, German Sheperds, Guns, Animals and the Great Outdoors (sick of Chicago).

RD

simply:

http://www.aandatrans.com/Departments/Chrysler-727-Trans/Governor-Kits.aspx

*edit* guess i should explain more

this will raise your shift point, but dependent upon throttle pressure and your placement of the accelerator pedal due to pressure placed upon it by said foot at different driving conditions will truly determine where your vehicle shifts at.