News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

What Wiring Harness Should I Get?

Started by Moparman01, August 05, 2013, 11:24:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Moparman01

Well the other night I about burned my General to the ground, when I hooked up my battery something shorted and smoke was pouring out of the bulkhead connectors and looked like the ballast resistor to, I mean it's fried! So, I have very little electrical knowledge, a buddy of mine said to pick up a complete new harness kit and he'd install it for me no problem, but I have no idea what to get? I know there is Painless Wiring kits, I checked them out on Summits site, are they good kits? (Summits discription of the kit says "includes column ignition, now we all know Chargers do not have the ignition in the column, I found that curious). I've also looked at Ez wiring, but again I'm not sure which kit is best for my car, but I like the price! Anyways, is there anything I should know or be aware of since my car is a factory 68 318 car with points ignition and now has a 440 with Mopar Performance electronic ignition when I order a kit? I really do want to start fresh with all brand new wiring as mine is speghetti factory of bad wiring the way it is anyway!! Thanks for any help!!

Back N Black

I would go with a new stock wiring setup, just plug and play. M & H makes the original harness and Year One sell the harness. There are 4 different harness:

Forward headlight harness.
Engine harness.
Dash harness
Taillight harness

Here's their number for technical support 562-926-9562

lukedukem