News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Tilt Shift Camaras and DSLR lenses..

Started by Brock Samson, June 26, 2009, 07:09:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brock Samson

I had first noticed the cool capabilities of these on commercial bumps of Adult Swim, I was perplexed as to how these effects were achieved but it has come to my attention it's a new lens technology that allows for focus to be maintained at all lengths or something like that,.. I'm a newbie Photo amature.. afterall,.
You may have seen these photos where things look like models?.. anyhow It's news and of intrest to me so I just thought I'd share...

for example:

http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2009/01/09/tilt-shift-with-full-frame-dslrs/

I would love to take some shots of my Charger or my fleet for that matter with one of these..
  I think I'll call a friend at the newspapers' Photo Dept...  :shruggy:
I'll let ya' know what I find out... Just thought I'd share...

Magnumcharger

The concept of tilt and shift is as old as photography itself.
At one time (and not that long ago), lenses were seperated from the body of cameras by means of an accordion section of fabric, known as "bellows".
Some of the more fancy cameras actually allowed the photographer to pivot the lens in a manner that would put it non-parrallel from the face of the film. This was called a "tilt".
A "shift" was the raising or lowering the lens in relation to the film.
The original purpose of this was to in closeup photography, which was assisted by a decrease in aperture (f-stop), which essentially increased the avaliable depth of field...therefore making everything in focus.
If you didn't decrease the aperture, you got the "fuzzy-around-the-edges" look.
What this did in effect was put part of the picture out of focus.