News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

r/t charger /plain charger

Started by mikes4692003, May 14, 2009, 06:40:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikes4692003

:shruggy: does anybody know what the differance is between the r/t charger vers regular charger?

SmashingPunkFan

I'm still pretty new to Chargers myself, but one thing I can think of right now is if you wanted a 426 HEMI or a 440 MAGNUM it had to be an R/T

Other than that it's just a list of different options for the car.
Tonight I'm Burning Star IV.
Projects:
1970 Dodge Charger SE (Main Project)
1973 Dodge Charger 400 cid. (Work in progress)
1988 Mustang 2.3 liter 4 cyl.

Looking for Seat tracks for bucket seats.

Back N Black

R/T has a 440 and a 727 trans or 4 speed and 8 3/4 diff.or a Dana depending on the package, bigger torsion bars, brakes. the big difference is the price. RT has XS as the first two digets in the vin and plain jane as XP.

Chatt69chgr

R/T also had different rear leaf springs, and front torsion bars.  Different exhaust system, ie, duals. 

Dans 68

Quote from: Chatt69chgr on May 14, 2009, 06:37:30 PM
R/T also had different rear leaf springs, and front torsion bars.  Different exhaust system, ie, duals

You could have dual exhaust and not have the R/T. An example would be my '68 XP 383 4-bbl 4-speed....the dual exhaust was standard.

Dan
1973 SE 400 727  1 of 19,645                                        1968 383 4bbl 4spds  2 of 259

green69rt

A lot of comments.  The total package made the difference on the RT. Brake drum size, dual exhausts, torsion bar size, rear leaf spring setup, radiator, embles here and there, maybe the drive shaft and u joints (not sure about these).  Anybody think of other things??

Ghoste