News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Radiator inlet?

Started by devilgear, March 19, 2009, 10:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

devilgear

I just ordered a new Summit Radiator, now I should have check before-but I'm dumb so we will get that out of the way first.Anyway my old rad has the inlet on the pass side and the so is the  outlet.The new one is said to have the inlet on the pass side, but the outlet is on the divers side.....Is this gonna be a problem? Would I have to get a new lower rad hose and if I do what one would I get? Thanks.

hemigeno

I'm no expert, but my guess is you're kinda scrod if what you say is true.  It's more difficult to change the lower radiator hose configuration than the upper due to the water pump discharge location.  It's kinda hard to route a radiator hose from a passenger-side water pump outlet, between or underneath the pulles and/or balancer, avoid the fan blades, and connect to a radiator on the driver's side - and I really doubt there's an off-the-shelf Gates hose application to solve your problem.

What engine combo are you running, and what kind of water pump/housing do you have? 

Could be that a restock fee and radiator re-order is the simplest solution...

firefighter3931

One option would be to install a driver side inlet waterpump housing....there are several aftermarket companies that make these in aluminum...or you could use an earlier BB factory housing.  :yesnod:

This might be easier than shipping the rad back and paying freight on a new one....more cost effective.  ;)

What year is your car ? What engine ?

Ron
68 Charger R/T "Black Pig" Street/Strip bruiser, 70 Charger R/T 440-6bbl Cruiser. Firecore ignition  authorized dealer ; contact me with your needs

devilgear