News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Just Another 69 Build... with a long story and pictures

Started by Long Island RT, February 16, 2009, 08:17:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Long Island RT

I've been using this post to document my build, and besides - I know everybody loves pictures (and video) so here it is.

I finally fired up the engine today!   It's almost 15 years ago (and some 15G's + later) I took this puppy apart and as I'm sure some of you know I was nervous as well as excited.  See - I put this car (so far) and engine together myself - and I'm far from an expert.  I mean I had to grind the inside of the block to get the 512 kit to fit in nevermind all the little details needed to put together an engine in general.

I tried a couple of weeks ago to start it - but never had any spark - turns out I had a ready-to-run distributor wired up to my MSD as if it was a magnetic pick-up only - duh  :slap:  With a bone-head mistake like that - it's amazing I actually got to where I am.

So as you can see - I'm still missing the entire front end - doors and interior (and some news wheels that I can't decide on).  But - before the winter came - I wanted to get it started and break-in the cam so in case I had any issues, I'd take care of it over the winter.

So - after a few different settings on the distributor - WHAM - she amazingly fired right up!   :yesnod:

25 minutes or so of cam break in and I had only two minor issues:
1. A coolant leak on the lower hose where it connects to the water pump (of course the hardest connection to get to)
2. A substantial oil leak from the Valley pan causing a nice run of oil to drip down the back of the block - onto the starter and eventually landing on the header.