News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Tool cost for body work

Started by Tigger, June 01, 2008, 09:13:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tigger

Have a 69, it needs trunk, quarters and the right front inner fender and 18" of frame rail. Core support is trashed also.
I have a complete front clip off a 70 cornet.

I wrench for Chrysler for a living, so mechanical tools are not an issue.

Question is, how much money would it take to buy all the proper bodyman tools and welder to address the above issues.

I;m thinking just farm out the bodywork and paint and just deal with the mechanical and interior myself.

Any and all inputs needed, thanks. :yesnod:

Silver R/T

my welder cost me nearly $600, its a nice 140 Hobart/Miller with gas setup. Good D/A will cost you at least $100, air compressor 220V, at least 60 gallon, preferrably 2 stage 12-13scfm. Body hammer/dolly set $300-$400 depending on which hammers your get...
if youre doing this once its better to outsource it, if doing more cars in future Id invest in tools. Mine have paid for itself.
http://www.cardomain.com/id/mitmaks

1968 silver/black/red striped R/T
My Charger is hybrid, it runs on gas and on tears of ricers
2001 Ram 2500 CTD
1993 Mazda MX-3 GS SE
1995 Ford Cobra SVT#2722

69hemi

Check out the tools section of my website www.69hemi.com and it will give you a pretty good idea.
http://www.69hemi.com
1969 Hemi R/T Charger
1969 440 GTX
1965 Hemi A/FX Plymouth
1964 Hemi Superstock Dodge
02 Ram
95 Ram

Mike DC

Yeah, that's about the size of it.  Just one car, and it's usually better to pay someone else.  More than one, and you'd be better off buying tools & doing your own metal work if you're good with your hands. 

If you farm it out, be prepared to really pay up the first time.