News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

New guy, question about a 68 Charger

Started by RickCrunelle, May 30, 2008, 05:46:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RickCrunelle

Yes, I'm a newbie, 1st post.
My neighbor has been sitting on a bone stock 1968 charger for a number of years.  It's parked outside, and is slowly rotting away.  I'm in Southern California, so fortunately it looks like the rust isn't too bad on it.  I recently finished my last project car, and I'm looking for another, so I'm thinking of seeing if I can get him to sell.  I haven't looked at the car yet, only from 20 feet away.  So I don't know anything about it.

What I'd like to know are the problem spots to look for on this car.  Areas prone to rust, non-reproduced parts, etc, etc...  I did a couple of searches, but couldn't find exactly what I wanted, so I'm hoping you guys can help.  Also, let me know what might be a particularly rare car (color, engine/trans combo, trans, a/c,...)  I love to customize, but I hate cutting up rare cars, so that will help me decide which path to take.  The project I just finished is a 63 Lincoln Convertible.  You know, the kind JFK was shot in.  They only made 3000 of those per year, so I restored it to (almost) 100% original.  However, before that I had a 1965 Nova SS that had almost nothing original, and was scary fast.

Thanks for any help!
Rick

Mike DC

If you're experienced with rusting musclecars as a whole, there aren't too many surprises for Chargers different from normal.  The back window corners, the trunkfloor & rear quarters & rear valance panels, the front fenders right behind the front wheelwell openings, etc. 

The taillight panel sometimes gets pretty eaten up on the '69/70 cars but the '68s aren't nearly as bad about that for some reason.